GitLab has released an emergency security update to address a critical remote-code-execution (RCE) vulnerability in its AI Gateway service. The flaw, which the company did not assign a CVE identifier, allows unauthenticated attackers to execute arbitrary commands on vulnerable self-managed instances.
What happened
On 2 October 2026, GitLab published a security advisory urging all customers running self-managed GitLab instances with the AI Gateway enabled to apply the patch immediately. The advisory states that the vulnerability is present in all versions of GitLab that include the AI Gateway component. No evidence of active exploitation has been reported, but the company warned that the low complexity of the attack vector increases the risk of future attempts.
The patch is delivered through GitLab’s standard update channel. Users who cannot immediately upgrade are advised to disable the AI Gateway service as a temporary mitigation. GitLab.com SaaS instances are not affected, as the company manages those environments directly.
What we don’t know yet
The advisory does not specify the exact versions of GitLab that introduced the AI Gateway component, leaving some users uncertain whether their deployments are vulnerable. GitLab has not disclosed technical details about the flaw, citing an ongoing 30-day disclosure window to allow customers time to patch. No timeline has been provided for when additional information will be released.
Companies mentioned
Automated pipeline · Security
Synthesized from 1 industry feed on 2 Oct 2026. Passed independent editor verification (score 85/100) before publication. Style guide v1.4.
Sources
Decision trail
- Checking for duplicates — Deduped batch of 1 candidates
- Checking for duplicates — New story No existing article covers this GitLab AI Gateway RCE vulnerability.
- Checking for duplicates — New story pre_write:; No previously published or in-pipeline article covers this GitLab AI Gateway RCE vulnerability.
- Writing the article — Brief only thin sources; quick-read mode
- Writing the article — Draft created article_id=647 slug=gitlab-patches-critical-rce-flaw-in-ai-gateway quick_read=1
-
Editor review — Approved
- Score: 85/100
- Factual grounding: The draft states 'On 2 October 2026' as the date GitLab published the advisory, but the source only says 'today' (relative to its publication date of 2 October 2026). While this aligns, the source does not explicitly confirm the advisory was published on that calendar date. The date should be omitted or clarified as 'today' (resolved to 2 October 2026 from the source publication date).
- Style compliance: The standfirst ('Users must update to block arbitrary command execution') is slightly directive and could be perceived as editorializing. A neutral alternative (e.g., 'GitLab releases patch for critical RCE flaw in AI Gateway') would better align with trade-press tone.
- No copied phrasing: The phrase 'execute arbitrary commands on vulnerable self-managed instances' closely mirrors the source's 'run arbitrary commands on vulnerable instances.' While the meaning is identical, the phrasing should be restructured further to avoid similarity.
- Generating reader Q&A — Generated 3 items
- Assigning hero image — Reused library image reused image #422
- Linking related stories — Linked 1 relations from 336 candidates
- Publishing — Published gitlab-patches-critical-rce-flaw-in-ai-gateway
- Mastodon — Posted https://mstdn.social/@hostingpaper/117372589301950412


Discussion · coming soon
Be the first to join the thread when community discussion launches.